Screen Reader Access
Home » About»

About the Department


The Department of Law at the University of Rajasthan has a rich history, dating back to 1947 when the university was founded. Initially housed in University Maharaja College, Jaipur, it was later shifted to the University of Rajasthan in 1953. The department started offering LL.M. courses and subsequently introduced diplomas in Labour Law, Criminology, and Taxation. It finally became an independent institute in 1993. Since then, the department has expanded its offerings to include P.G. Diploma in Environmental Law (SFS Course) and LL.M. in Human Rights and Value Education (SFS Course). Additionally, the department offers a Ph.D. programme in Law. Our alumni have excelled in their careers, holding prestigious positions such as Supreme Court/High Court Judges, Senior Advocates, civil servants, judicial officers, law officers, academia, and bankers among others.

Infrastructural Facilities:

The Department boasts a vast and diverse library, housing over 68,500 books, catering to the academic needs of its students and faculty alike. Equipped with modern infrastructural facilities, including Wi-Fi connectivity and smart classroom it ensures that students have access to cutting-edge resources for their research and studies. Additionally, the Department takes pride in its state-of-the-art Seminar Hall, providing a conducive environment for intellectual discourse and collaborative learning.

Thrust Areas:

  • International Law
  • Cyber Law
  • Intellectual Property Laws
  • Law of Trots & Crimes
  • Personal Law
  • Labour Law
  • Consumer Laws
  • Corporate Law
  • Mercantile Law
  • Constitutional Law
  • Human Rights
  • Law of International Institutions

    Notable Alumni

    S.No. Name of Alumni
    1 Hon'ble Sh. Jagdeep Dhankhar (Vice-President of India)
    2 Hon'ble Mr. Justice G. S. Singhvi (Former Judge, Supreme Court of India)
    3 Hon'ble Mr. Justice Ajay Rastogi (Former Judge, Supreme Court of India)
    4 Hon'ble Mr. Justice M. N. Bhandari (Chairman, Appellate Tribunal/SAFEM Act.,1976)
    5 Hon'ble Mr. Justice Anoop Dhand (Judge, Rajasthan High Court)
    6 Hon'ble Mr. Justice Anil Upman (Judge, Rajasthan High Court)
    7 Hon'ble Mr. Justice Sudesh Bansal (Judge, Rajasthan High Court)
    8 Sh. Kalicharan Saraf (M.L.A)
    9 Sh. N. L. Gurjar (Ex. M.L.A)
    10 Sh. Mahendra Choudhary (Ex. M.L.A)

    Alumni Association:

    To be updated.

    Alumni Registration Form:

    To be updated.